Buy this instead of that!-July

I’m pretty sure everyone has seen the “Eat this, not That” articles in every major magazine or at least at SUBWAY while you order your 700 calorie sandwich. (Seriously, look it up…while tasty SUBWAY is making you a big ol’ fattie).

So in my own special (and probably not at all original) twist I have decided to share with you a recent discovery I made regarding containers. I thought this post might be fun in time for the Fourth since people tend to either go on vacation and bring some souveniers back or invite folks over to their home and want to tidy up a bit. I have just moved into a new apartment and so finding the exact right spot for every item I own is on the top of my priority list.

I do not consider myself to be OCD about a lot of things, in fact I can often be very messy–but everything HAS TO HAVE A CONTAINER or my s$%^ hits the fan. If I open a drawer that just has items floating around in it willy-nilly I can’t go a day without thinking “that drawer needs to get organized”. I love my parents dearly, but I cannot cook at their house because the disarray of their kitchen drawers bothers me too much. Perhaps my OCD is getting worse the older I get. As you can probably imagine, this little “habit” of mine can be quite expensive. It is helpful because I never buy things unless I am certain I can find a perfect spot for it in the house-this keeps me from accumulating too many unnecessary items and from spending my money on junk, but then the money I save just gets spent on a snazzy container to hold all the junk I already own and well…you get the picture.

I was going to go buy my old standby’s -the trusty MadeSmart Organizers from the Container store, so I could make sure I bought the exact right amount of compartments for the 9 1/2 by 12 1/2 drawers I had to fill. But the picture you see below would cost you upwards of 20 dollars (each compartment costs about 3-5.99 depending on the size) and would only fill half of my drawer 😦

When I was at Target the other day picking up a few more items I found this little gem from their Room Essentials line. It was only 9.89 and included two large compartments, four long slim compartments and four little cups (perfect for hair ties/bobby pins). As shown below, I didn’t even have to use all that the pack gave me! For the twenty dollars I would’ve spent on half of a drawer at the Container Store I was able to do two drawers for the price of 1!

                                                                                                                                                                                                       My bathroom drawer!

                                                                                                                                                                                                     Jewelry Drawer #1

Containers might be my very favorite thing on this earth. Excluding my dog, Murray of course.

  What are some things you do to organize on the cheap?

9 thoughts on “Buy this instead of that!-July

  1. LOL! I’m actually very clean an tidy…unless you look in my drawers and closets. I’m happy that’s one thing I’m not OCD about. But I have to say, if I walked into the Container Store (which just opened from me about 1/2 mile away), I would be in serious spending trouble. I do heart organization.

  2. Wow, you are super organized. I thought we were bad.. but it’s true. We live by the 5S theory and one of them is Seiton Japanese meaning ….Straightening out… There should be a place for everything and everything should be in its place. The place for each item should be clearly indicated. I did a blog post on How We designed our Budget and why it was important to stay organized with everything in life.

  3. I bought all my drawer divider/containers at the local dollar store. I keep them and move them around from place to place with me. If I can’t use them all, I store them away for a “rainy” day (the next time I move or get in the mood to reorganize). I have about a dozen shallow dishpans that I have carried around with me for the last 15 years and I’ve ALWAYS found a use for them whether it is in my clothing drawers to keep socks, panties, bras, etc. separated in the drawers or in the pantry to keep bagged items categorized (pasta, beans, popcorn, etc.).

    • People would be surprised how versatily storage containers can be-I still have all of the ones I’ve bought from the past. Even taking old baskets and things your parents/friends don’t use anymore can be a great way to coral the clutter. Thanks for your thoughtful comments, Libby!

  4. Pingback: Buy THIS Instead of THAT-August | L Bee and the Money Tree

Leave a Reply

